Standing Between You And Maryland’s Harsh DUI Laws
If you have been accused of drunk driving in Maryland, you are in a fight for your future. The consequences for a DUI conviction are harsh, even for a first offense. The damage continues long after you pay the fine and get your driver’s license back. A DUI conviction cannot be expunged, meaning it will stay on your record for life.
Silver Spring attorney James N. Papirmeister has handled thousands of drunk driving cases over 34 years which include DWI and DUI. For a free initial consultation about your case, call 301-589-2100 or 301-367-6500 after hours.
What Are The Consequences Of A Drunk Driving Conviction In Maryland?
A DUI arrest involves both criminal and civil consequences. Criminal consequences will depend on your blood alcohol content, whether you refused a breath or a blood test, your prior record, whether there was an accident with personal injury to anyone, and other factors pertaining to the seriousness of the offense. The civil consequences concern suspension of your driving privileges, which will be determined during a hearing with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). The DUI lawyer at Law Offices of James N. Papirmeister, P.C., will represent you in your criminal and civil proceedings.
Under Maryland law, you may be charged with the following:
- DUI: In Maryland, DUI is typically charged when you have a BAC of .08 or higher, or even if you refused a breath test when your performance on field sobriety tests was poor. It carries a maximum penalty in Maryland of one year in jail, a $1000 fine for a first offense, a minimum of 180 days of a driver’s license suspension, and often, a requirement for the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. If you have a past conviction, you could face up to three years and suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.
- Driving impaired or operating impaired: This is a lesser offense than DUI, typically carrying a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine for the first offense in Maryland and up to a year for a second or subsequent offense.
For either DWI or DUI, you face the requirement for alcohol evaluation and treatment as well as probation.
Do I Have A Defense Against DUI And DWI Charges?
Even if you failed a roadside sobriety test and blew over the limit at the police station, you should not give up hope. A skilled DUI and DWI defense lawyer can challenge the legality of the stop and other issues related to your arrest. For example, if the police did not follow proper procedures in administering the DUI test, the results can be suppressed.
DUI and DWI are technical charges. They require a technical defense based on the facts of your case.
Learn more about DUI charges by clicking on the links below: