When facing criminal charges for an alleged sexual offense in Minnesota, you may benefit from learning about the potential penalties associated with that offense.
Educating yourself about the state’s laws and programs related to sex crimes may help you make decisions through the defense process. The consequences of a sex crime conviction, including the mandate to register as a sex offender, vary based on the specific charge.
Sex offender registration duration
According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, you may need to maintain your registration as a sex offender for 15 years, 25 years or for the duration of your life. Tier III offenses such as kidnapping a child under 12 align with a lifetime registration, as do first degree, second degree and some third degree sex crime charges.
A conviction for “misleading words or digital images” online carries with it a 15-year registration period and denotes a Tier I offense. Tier II offenses include many third degree sexual offenses and mandate registration for 25 years.
Registration times for different tiers
Lifetime registrations require you to update your information every three months. For Tier I or Tier II categories, you must update your information every six months.
Information visible to the public
Via the state’s sex offender registry, a member of the public may see your address, name and details of the offense which forced you to register as a sex offender.
This information is not intended to provide legal advice but is instead meant to give people accused of sex crimes in Minnesota a basic understanding of the state’s sex offender registry program and how it may impact them.