A recent post here discussed what can happen in Maryland if an individual is accused of driving under the influence and fails or refuses a breath test to determine their blood alcohol content level. There is a complex set of potential penalties and consequences that can result from a drunk driving charge. Different consequences can result from a breath test refusal or a failed breath test, so it is important for accused individuals to be familiar with what those are.
In Maryland, a driver's license may be suspended or revoked for the refusal to take a breath test or for failing a breath test. If the accused individual submitted to a blood alcohol content test and failed the test, measuring at a 0.08 to 0.14 blood alcohol content, they face a 180-day suspension for the first offense and a 180-day license suspension for any subsequent offenses. If the offense involves a fatality, the license suspension can be more significant.
In circumstances in which the driver refuses to take a breath test to determine their blood alcohol content level, they face a 270-day driver's license suspension for the first offense and any additional offenses can result in a two-year driver's license suspension. Loss of a driver's license can make daily life challenging and can also create professional challenges as well. Accusations of driving under the influence involve a variety of serious potential penalties and consequences.
As a result, it is important to know how to respond to both the potential criminal and administrative penalties associated with a drunk driving charge and how to pursue license reinstatement when necessary. Criminal defense resources are designed to help accused individuals navigate the oftentimes daunting criminal justice process, which is why accused individuals should be familiar with them and what their options are when facing criminal charges.
Source: Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration, "Alcohol Test Failure or Refusal," Accessed May 5, 2018