Penalties and consequences for driving under the influence in Maryland can be serious. Penalties and consequences for a DUI can include criminal penalties and administrative consequences that can have a significant impact on the accused individual's personal and professional life, as well as their freedom. For the first DUI charge in Maryland, the accused individual can face imprisonment up to one year, a fine of $1,000 and license revocation of up to 6 months.
For a second DUI charge in Maryland, the accused individual faces a 5-day minimum in jail and up to a maximum of 2 years in prison, a $2,000 fine and license revocation up to 1 year. Participation in an alcohol abuse assessment program is also required. Penalties and consequences may increase according to the number of DUI offenses the accused individual has. In addition, an ignition interlock device is required which can result in additional costs such as an installation fee and monthly monitoring fee. A waiting period for reinstatement of a revoked driver's license also applies according to how many DUI offenses the accused individual has.
Driving while impaired charges are also possible in Maryland which, though considered a lesser charge, still presents serious penalties and consequences for accused individuals. Drunk driving accusations and charges can cause significant disruption in the lives of accused individuals. It is important for individuals facing DUI charges to be familiar with their rights and the rights that all individuals accused of crimes have to present a criminal defense to the charges they are facing.
Drunk driving accusations and charges can occur following a traffic stop and send an accused individual's life into tumult. As a result, it is important that accused individuals understand that they have protections available to them.
Source: DMV.org, "DUI & DWI in Maryland," Accessed June 22, 2016