Standing Between You and Maryland's Harsh DUI Laws

If you have been accused of drunk driving in Maryland, you are in a fight for your future. The consequences for a DUI conviction are harsh, even for a first offense. The damage continues long after you pay the fine and get your driver's license back. A DUI conviction cannot be expunged, meaning it will stay on your record for life.

Silver Spring attorney James N. Papirmeister has defended more than 15,000 people accused of driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while impaired (DWI) in Maryland and Washington, D.C. Mr. Papirmeister is a member of the National College for DUI Defense, a national organization dedicated to the dissemination of information about DUI defense law. For a free initial consultation about your case, call 301-589-2100 or 301-367-6500 after hours.

What Are the Consequences of a Drunk-Driving Conviction in Maryland?

A DUI arrest involves both criminal and civil consequences. The criminal consequences will depend on your blood alcohol content (BAC), your prior record and the seriousness of the offense. The civil consequences concern suspension of your driving privileges, which will be determined during a hearing with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). DUI lawyer James Papirmeister will represent you in both your criminal and civil proceedings.

Under Maryland law, you may be charged with the following:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol: In Maryland, DUI is typically charged when you have a BAC of .08 percent or higher. It carries a maximum penalty of one year in jail, a 120-day driver's license suspension and a $1,000 fine for a first conviction. If you have a past conviction, you could face up to three years, and suspension or revocation of your driver's license.
  • Driving while impaired: DWI is a lesser offense that is typically charged when your BAC is from .07 percent to .079 percent. It carries a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail, a 60-day driver's license suspension and a $500 fine.

For either DWI or DUI, you face the requirement for alcohol evaluation and treatment, and probation.

Do I Have a Defense Against DUI/DWI Charges?

Even if you failed a roadside sobriety test and blew over the limit at the police station, you should not give up hope. A skilled DUI/DWI defense lawyer can challenge the legality of the stop and other issues related to your arrest. For example, if police did not follow proper procedures in administering the DUI test, the results can be suppressed.

DUI and DWI are technical charges. They require a technical defense based on the facts of your case.

Learn more about DUI charges:

Should I take a field sobriety test?

What are the consequences of driving under the influence of marijuana or other drugs?

Learn about other serious driving offenses.

Talk to a Lawyer About DUI/DWI Charges Today

Protect your driver's license and your reputation when facing DUI or DWI charges. Please call 301-589-2100 for immediate help. Or you can complete our simple contact form to schedule a consultation.